PEOPLE

Researchers

Vladimir Asriyan
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: University of California, Berkeley
vasriyan@crei.cat
Office: 23.408
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 28 27
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Finance and Information Economics
Fernando Broner
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: MIT
fbroner_at_crei_dot_cat
Office: 23.305
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2601
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics and International Economics
Luca Fornaro
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: LSE
lfornaro@crei.cat
Office: 23.306
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2619
Research Interests:
  • International Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics
Jordi Galí
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: MIT
jgali@crei.cat
Office: 23.303
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2754
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomic Theory and Monetary Economics
Mishel Ghassibe
(CREI Junior Researcher)
PhD: University of Oxford
mghassibe@crei.cat
Office: 23.412
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1547
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Production Networks, Monetary Economics, Fiscal Policy
Elisa Giannone
(CREI Junior Researcher, Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: University of Chicago
egiannone@crei.cat
Office: 23.307
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2732
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, International Trade, Economic Growth, Regional Economics, Development Economics
Albert Marcet
(ICREA Research Professor at CREI, Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor, AXA Chair and UPF Adjunct Professor)
PhD: University of Minnesota
albert.marcet@crei.cat
Office: 23.413
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 15 25
Research Interests:
  • Models of Learning, Asset Prices, Recursive Contracts, Optimal Fiscal Policy, Bayesian VAR
Alberto Martin
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: Columbia University
amartin@crei.cat
Office: 23.409
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2708
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomic Theory, International Economics and Financial Markets
Dávid Krisztián Nagy
(CREI Junior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Princeton
dnagy@crei.cat
Office: 23.309
Tel.: +34 (93) 542 2760
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • International Trade, Economic Geography
Giacomo Ponzetto
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Harvard
gponzetto@crei.cat
Office: 23.410
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2829
Research Interests:
  • Political Economy, International Trade, Urban Economics, and Applied Microeconomics
Edouard Schaal
(ICREA Research Professor at CREI, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Princeton
eschaal@crei.cat
Office: 23.407
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2765
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Labor Markets, Search and matching, Information frictions and business cycle
Victoria Vanasco
(CREI Junior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: University of California Berkeley
vvanasco@crei.cat
Office: 23.308
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2598
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Corporate Finance, Macrofinance, Security Design, Games with Asymmetric Information, Mechanism Design
Jaume Ventura
(CREI Director and Senior Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: Harvard University
jventura@crei.cat
Office: 23.312
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1765
Research Interests:
  • International Economics and Macroeconomics

Associate Researchers

Isaac Baley
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Assistant Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: NYU
isaac.baley@upf.edu
Office: 20.161 (Jaume i Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2506
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Information, International, Labor
Andrea Caggese
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Associate Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated professor)
PhD: London School of Economics
andrea.caggese@upf.edu
Office: 20.159 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2395
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Applied and Quantitative Macroeconomics, Business Cycles and Corporate Finance
Davide Debortoli
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Universitat Pompeu Fabra
davide.debortoli@upf.edu
Office: 20.165 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1657
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Fiscal Policy, Monetary Policy
Jan Eeckhout
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Research Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: London School of Economics
jan.eeckhout@upf.edu
Office: 20.203
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1748
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Market Power, Macroeconomics, Labor Markets, Urban Economics
Teresa Garcia-Milà
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Director)
PhD: University of Minnesota
teresa.garcia-mila@upf.edu
Office: 20.211 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1749
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Public Economics and Regional Economics
Manuel García-Santana
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Associate Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: CEMFI
manuel.santana@upf.edu
Office: 20.167 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1697
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics: Trade, Growth and Development
Priit Jeenas
(CREI Associate Researcher, Assistant Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: New York University
priit.jeenas@upf.edu
Office: 20.1E58 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1112
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Financial Economics
Martí Mestieri
(CREI Associate Researcher and UPF Professor)
PhD: MIT
marti.mestieri@gmail.com
Office: 20.2E14 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1669
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Economic Growth, International Trade, and Macroeconomic Aspects of Economic Development
Joan Monràs
(CREI Associate Researcher, Associate Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Columbia university
joan.monras@upf.edu
Office: 20.169 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: +34 93 542 1681
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Labor Economics, Urban Economics, and International Trade
José Luis Peydró
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Research Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: INSEAD
jose.peydro@upf.edu
Office: 20.215 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1756
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Financial Intermediation, Monetary and Macroprudential Policies, International Finance
Barbara Rossi
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: Princeton University
barbara.rossi@upf.edu
Office: 20.207 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1655
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Time Series Econometrics, Applied International Finance, Macroeconomics

Visiting Researchers

Julien Bengui
(Université de Montréal)
PhD: University of Maryland
julien.bengui@umontreal.ca
Office: 23.304
Tel.: 2562
Personal website

January to June 2022
March 27 to April 6, 2017

Gustavo de Souza
(Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
University of Chicago
gmsouza@uchicago.edu
Office: 23.311
Tel.: 2824
Personal website

March 7 to 11, 2022

Gene Grossman
(Princeton University)
PhD: MIT
grossman@princeton.edu Personal website

February 15 to June 12, 2016
May 24 to June 22, 2018
May 23 to June 26, 2019
May 16 to 27, 2022

Jean Grossman
(Princeton University)
PhD: MIT
jgrossma@princeton.edu Personal website

May 24 to June 22, 2018
May 23 to June 26, 2019
May 16 to 27, 2022

Jonathan Hall
(University of Toronto)
University of Chicago
jonathan.hall@utoronto.ca
Office: 23.301
Tel.: 2372
Personal website

March 10 to 16, 2022

Former Visiting Researchers