PEOPLE

Researchers

Vladimir Asriyan
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: University of California, Berkeley
vasriyan@crei.cat
Office: 23.408
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 28 27
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Finance, Information Economics and Macroeconomics
Fernando Broner
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: MIT
fbroner_at_crei_dot_cat
Office: 23.305
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2601
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics and International Economics
Luca Fornaro
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: LSE
lfornaro@crei.cat
Office: 23.306
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2619
Research Interests:
  • International Economics and Monetary Economics
Jordi Galí
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: MIT
jgali@crei.cat
Office: 23.303
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2754
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomic Theory and Monetary Economics
Mishel Ghassibe
(CREI Junior Researcher)
PhD: University of Oxford
mghassibe@crei.cat
Office: 23.412
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1547
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Production Networks, Monetary Economics and Fiscal Policy
Elisa Giannone
(CREI Junior Researcher, Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: University of Chicago
egiannone@crei.cat
Office: 23.307
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2732
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Devopment Economics, Economic Growth, International Trade, Macroeconomics, Regional Economics
Albert Marcet
(ICREA Research Professor at CREI, Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor, AXA Chair and UPF Adjunct Professor)
PhD: University of Minnesota
albert.marcet@crei.cat
Office: 23.413
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 15 25
Research Interests:
  • Financial Economics, Econometrics, Information Economics, Fiscal Policy and Macroeconomics
Alberto Martin
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: Columbia University
amartin@crei.cat
Office: 23.409
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2708
Research Interests:
  • Financial Markets, International Economics and Macroeconomic Theory
Dávid Krisztián Nagy
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Princeton
dnagy@crei.cat
Office: 23.309
Tel.: +34 (93) 542 2760
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Economic Geography and International Trade,
Giacomo Ponzetto
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Harvard
gponzetto@crei.cat
Office: 23.410
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2829
Research Interests:
  • Applied Micro, Financial Economics, International Economics and, Economic Geography and Urban Economics
Edouard Schaal
(ICREA Research Professor at CREI, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Princeton
eschaal@crei.cat
Office: 23.407
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2765
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Business cycle, Information frictions, Labor Markets, Macroeconomics and Search and matching
Victoria Vanasco
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: University of California Berkeley
vvanasco@crei.cat
Office: 23.308
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2598
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Corporate Finance, Games with Asymmetric Information, Macrofinance, Mechanism Design and Security Design
Jaume Ventura
(CREI Director and Senior Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: Harvard University
jventura@crei.cat
Office: 23.312
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1765
Research Interests:
  • International Economics and Macroeconomics

Associate Researchers

Isaac Baley
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Assistant Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: NYU
isaac.baley@upf.edu
Office: 20.161 (Jaume i Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2506
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Information, International, Labor, Macroeconomics
Andrea Caggese
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Associate Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated professor)
PhD: London School of Economics
andrea.caggese@upf.edu
Office: 20.159 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2395
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Applied and Quantitative Macroeconomics, Business Cycles and Macroeconomics
Davide Debortoli
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Research Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: Universitat Pompeu Fabra
davide.debortoli@upf.edu
Office: 20.165 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1657
Research Interests:
  • Fiscal Policy, Macroeconomics and Monetary Policy
Jan Eeckhout
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Research Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: London School of Economics
jan.eeckhout@upf.edu
Office: 20.203
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1748
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Labor Markets, Market Power and Urban Economics
Teresa Garcia-Milà
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Director)
PhD: University of Minnesota
teresa.garcia-mila@upf.edu
Office: 20.211 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1749
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Applied Microeconomics and, Economic Geography and Urban Economics
Manuel García-Santana (on leave)
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Associate Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: CEMFI
manuel.santana@upf.edu
Office: 20.167 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1697
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics and, Trade, Growth and Development
Priit Jeenas
(CREI Associate Researcher, Assistant Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: New York University
priit.jeenas@upf.edu
Office: 20.1E58 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1112
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics and Financial Economics
Ramon Marimon
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Full Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Northwestern University
ramon.marimon@upf.edu
Office: 20.222 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2641
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Contract Theory, Labour Theory, Learning Theory, Macroeconomics and Monetary Theory
Geert Mesters
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Associate Professor and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Vrije University Amsterdam
geert.mesters@upf.edu
Office: 20.1E80 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1181
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Applied Macroeconomics, Econometrics and Statistics
Martí Mestieri
(CREI Associate Researcher and UPF Professor)
PhD: MIT
marti.mestieri@gmail.com
Office: 20.2E14 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1669
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Economic Growth, International Trade, and Macroeconomic Aspects of Economic Development
Joan Monràs (on leave)
(CREI Associate Researcher, Associate Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Columbia university
joan.monras@upf.edu
Office: 20.169 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: +34 93 542 1681
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • International Economics, Labor Economics, and Economic Geography and Urban Economics
Barbara Rossi
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Professor at UPF and Barcelona School of Economics Research Professor)
PhD: Princeton University
barbara.rossi@upf.edu
Office: 20.207 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1655
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • International Economics, Macroeconomics and Econometrics

Visiting Researchers

Mark Aguiar
(Princeton University)
PhD: MIT
maguiar@princeton.edu
Office: 23.301
Tel.: 2823
Personal website

May 2 to 6, 2016
February 19 to Apil 11, 2024

Florin Bilbiie
(University of Cambridge)
PhD European University Institute
florin.bilbiie@gmail.com
Office: 23.304
Tel.: 2562
Personal website

May 15 to June 2, 2017
September 26 to 30, 2022
September 27 to October 20, 2023

Michaela Elfsbacka-Schmöller
(Bank of Finland)
PhD: Aalto University School of Business/ Helsinki GSE
michaela.elfsbacka-schmoller@bof.fi
Office: 23.304
Tel.: 2562
Personal website

November 20 to December 15, 2023

Ruben Gaetani
(University of Toronto)
PhD: Northwestern University
ruben.gaetani@utoronto.ca
Office: 23.310
Tel.: 2823
Personal website

February 19 to March 1, 2024.

David Gomtsyan
(Université Clermont Auvergne (CERDI))
PhD: University of Turin
dgomtsyan@gmail.com
Office: 23.311
Tel.: 2824
Personal website

November 13 to 19, 2023

Gene Grossman
(Princeton University)
PhD: MIT
grossman@princeton.edu
Office: 23.311
Tel.: 2824
Personal website

February 15 to June 12, 2016
May 24 to June 22, 2018
May 23 to June 26, 2019
May 16 to 27, 2022
May 19 to June 15, 2023
February 26 to March 23 and April 1 to 18, 2024

Jean Grossman
(Princeton University)
PhD: MIT
jgrossma@princeton.edu
Office: 23.304
Tel.: 2562
Personal website

May 24 to June 22, 2018
May 23 to June 26, 2019
May 6 to 27, 2022
May 19 to June 15, 2023
February 26 to March 23 and April 1 to 18, 2024

Marianna Kudlyak
(Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco)
PhD: University of Rochester
marianna.kudlyak@sf.frb.org
Office: 23.304
Tel.: 2562
Personal website

September 4 to 24, 2023

Sarolta Laczó
(Queen Mary University of London)
PhD: Toulouse School of Economics
s.laczo@qmul.ac.uk
Office: 23.304 (17/01-23/02) + 23.414 (24/02-10/03)
Tel.: 2562
Personal website

January 17 to March 10, 2024

Francesca Loria
(Federal Reserve Board)
PhD: European University Institute
francescaloria.work@gmail.com
Office: 23.301
Tel.: 2372
Personal website

September 12 to December 23, 2023

Kiminori Matsuyama
(Northwestern University)
PhD: Harvard University
k-matsuyama@northwestern.edu
Office: 23.301
Tel.: 2732
Personal website

February 27 to March 21, 2016
March 5 to 30, 2018
March 6 to 20, 2023

Gerard Padró
(Yale University)
PhD: MIT
gerard.padro@yale.edu
Office: 23.311
Tel.: 2824
Personal website

July 17, 2023 to June 28, 2024

Andrii Parkhomenko
(USC - Marshall School of Business)
PhD: Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and Barcelona School of Economics
parkhomenko.andrii@gmail.com
Office: 23.310
Tel.: 2823
Personal website

May 1 to June 16, 2023

Elisa Rubbo
(University of Chicago, Booth School of Business)
PhD: Harvard University
elisarubbo@uchicago.edu
Office: 23.301
Tel.: 2372
Personal website

May 31 to June 6, 2023

Feodora Teti
(LMU & ifo Institute)
PhD: ifo Institute and Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich
teti@ifo.de
Office: 23.310
Tel.: 2823
Personal website

November 9 to 17, 2023

Vladimir Tyazhelnikov
(University of Sydney)
PhD: UCLA
vladimir.tyazhelnikov@sydney.edu.au
Office: 23.304
Tel.: 2562
Personal website

November 13 to 17

Former Visiting Researchers