PEOPLE

Researchers

Vladimir Asriyan
(CREI Junior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: University of California, Berkeley
vasriyan@crei.cat
Office: 23.408
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 28 27
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomic Theory, Financial Economics, and International Economics
Fernando Broner
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: MIT
fbroner_at_crei_dot_cat
Office: 23.305
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2601
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics and International Economics
Luca Fornaro
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: LSE
lfornaro@crei.cat
Office: 23.306
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2619
Research Interests:
  • International Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics
Jordi Galí
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona GSE Research Professor)
PhD: MIT
jgali@crei.cat
Office: 23.303
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2754
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomic Theory and Monetary Economics
Albert Marcet
(ICREA Research Professor at CREI, Barcelona GSE Research Professor, AXA Chair and UPF Adjunct Professor)
PhD: University of Minnesota
albert.marcet@crei.cat
Office: 23.413
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 15 25
Research Interests:
  • Models of Learning, Asset Prices, Recursive Contracts, Optimal Fiscal Policy, Bayesian VAR
Alberto Martin
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona GSE Research Professor)
PhD: Columbia University
amartin@crei.cat
Office: 23.409
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2708
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomic Theory, International Economics and Financial Markets
Dávid Krisztián Nagy
(CREI Junior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Princeton
dnagy@crei.cat
Office: 23.309
Tel.: +34 (93) 542 2760
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • International Trade, Economic Geography
Giacomo Ponzetto
(CREI Senior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Harvard
gponzetto@crei.cat
Office: 23.410
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2829
Research Interests:
  • Political Economy, International Trade, Urban Economics, and Applied Microeconomics
Edouard Schaal
(ICREA Research Professor at CREI, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Princeton
eschaal@crei.cat
Office: 23.407
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2765
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Labor Markets, Search and matching, Information frictions and business cycle
Victoria Vanasco
(CREI Junior Researcher, UPF Adjunct Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: University of California Berkeley
vvanasco@crei.cat
Office: 23.308
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2598
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Corporate Finance, Macrofinance, Security Design, Games with Asymmetric Information, Mechanism Design
Jaume Ventura
(CREI Director and Senior Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona GSE Research Professor)
PhD: Harvard University
jventura@crei.cat
Office: 23.312
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1765
Research Interests:
  • International Economics and Macroeconomics

Associate Researchers

Isaac Baley
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Assistant Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: NYU
isaac.baley@upf.edu
Office: 20.161 (Jaume i Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2506
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Information, International, Labor
Andrea Caggese
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Associate Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated professor)
PhD: London School of Economics
andrea.caggese@upf.edu
Office: 20.159 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2395
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Applied and Quantitative Macroeconomics, Business Cycles and Corporate Finance
Davide Debortoli
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Associate Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Universitat Pompeu Fabra
davide.debortoli@upf.edu
Office: 20.165 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1657
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Fiscal Policy, Monetary Policy
Julian di Giovanni (on leave)
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Research Professor at UPF and Barcelona GSE Research Professor)
PhD: University of California, Berkeley
julian.digiovanni@upf.edu
Office: 20.163 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2690
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • International Economics and Macroeconomics
Jan Eeckhout
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Research Professor at UPF and Barcelona GSE Research Professor)
London School of Economics
jan.eeckhout@upf.edu
Office: 20.203
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1748
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Labor Markets, Unemployment, Sorting, City Distribution
Teresa Garcia-Milà
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Professor and Barcelona GSE Director)
PhD: University of Minnesota
teresa.garcia-mila@upf.edu
Office: 20.211 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1749
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Public Economics and Regional Economics
Manuel García-Santana
(CREI Associate Researcher, UPF Assistant Professor and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: CEMFI
manuel.santana@upf.edu
Office: 20.167 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1697
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics: Trade, Growth and Development
Priit Jeenas
(CREI Associate Researcher, Assistant Professor at UPF and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: New York University
priit.jeenas@upf.edu
Office: 20.1E58 (Jaume I Building)
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Financial Economics
Joan Monràs
(CREI Associate Researcher, Assistant Professor at UPF and Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professor)
PhD: Columbia university
joan.monras@upf.edu
Office: 20.169
Tel.: +34 93 542 1681
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Labor Economics, Urban Economics, and International Trade
José Luis Peydró
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Research Professor at UPF, Barcelona GSE Research Professor and CEPR)
PhD: INSEAD
jose.peydro@upf.edu
Office: 20.215 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1756
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Finance and Macroeconomics, mainly on systemic risk, financial crises, endogenous risk, central bank policies, monetary and prudential policy, financial globalization, financial contagion, financial innovation, macroeconomics and credit markets, banking, fintech, capital and liquidity
Barbara Rossi
(CREI Associate Researcher, ICREA Professor at UPF and Barcelona GSE Research Professor)
PhD: Princeton University
barbara.rossi@upf.edu
Office: 20.207 (Jaume I Building)
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1655
Personal website
Research Interests:
  • Time Series Econometrics, Applied International Finance, Macroeconomics

Visiting Researchers

Isabel Cairó
(Federal Reserve Board)
PhD. Universitat Pompeu Fabra
isabel.cairo@frb.gov Personal website

November 12 to December 20, 2019

Roberto Chang
(Rutgers University)
PhD: University of Pennsylvania
chang@econ.rutgers.edu Personal website

October 2015 to June 2016
June 14 to July 2 2017
June 14 to July 4, 2018
June 28 to July 8, 2019

Nicolas Coeurdacier
(Sciences Po)
PhD: Paris School of Economics
nicolas.coeurdacier@sciencespo.fr
Office: 23.311
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 2824
Personal website

October 3 to December 3, 2016
January 7 to May 31, 2019

Matthias Doepke
(Northwestern University)
PhD: University of Chicago
doepke@northwestern.edu
Office: 23.412
Tel.: (+34) 93 542 1547
Personal website

September 1, 2018  to June 30, 2019

Pablo Fajgelbaum
(UCLA)
PhD: Princeton University
pfajgelbaum@gmail.com Personal website

June 10 to 21, 2019

Ana Fernandes
(University of Bern)
PhD: University of Chicago
ana.fernandes@bfh.ch Personal website

September 2008 to December 2009
September 5 to December 6, 2019

Gene Grossman
(Princeton University)
PhD: MIT
grossman@princeton.edu Personal website

February 15 to June 12, 2016
May 24 to June 22, 2018
May 23 to June 26, 2019

Jean Grossman
(Princeton University)
PhD: MIT
jgrossma@princeton.edu Personal website

May 24 to June 22, 2018
May 23 to June 26, 2019

Former Visiting Researchers